Posted by: thakarron | November 18, 2009

Jumping on the Meme-train!

So there’s been a follow-up to an awesome and very insightful survey of healers, and it’s aimed squarely at us DPSers. A lot of blogs I follow have filled them out, so even though I’m just a young buck around here I figure I’d be brave and sit with the grown-ups instead of at the kids table!

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary dps?
Thakarron, Orc Hunter, Survival

What is your primary dpsing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)
Although I spend equal time in 10 and 25 mans, I like to think of 10-man as my real stomping ground.

What is your favorite dps spell/ability for your class and why?
I’m sure all the other Survival Hunters are gonna say Explosive Shot, and I can’t really argue it does great damage and is iconic of the survival play style, but I really love Lock and Load. It changes up our rotation quite a bit and really brings the noise, nothing beats seeing a string of 9k plus Explosive Shot crits on Icehowl (except maybe that elusive 56k Kill Shot on twin Valkyr with Empowered Light *epeen strokefest*)

What dps spell do you use least for your class and why?
I’m gonna have to say that I hardly use Disengage =X I know a lot of hunters can use it to great effect in raids to jump out of “the shit” or quickly reposition themselves, but all I can seem to do is fling myself off a cliff in Storm Peaks -__-”

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your dps class and why?
Being able to just drop bombs on a single-target steadily without having to worry about lucky crits (they certainly help though =]) or anything like that. Then being able to Feign Death and drop agro right when I’m about to pass the tank.

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your dps class and why?
The amount of situations where our DPS gets completely gimped. If we’re moving too  much we suck. If we have to stack up on the boss we suck. The list goes on =[

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best dps assignment for you?
Definitely single-target, Hunters have decent enough AoE but its nothing compared to other classes that are more well-suited to the task. On a single target we can settle into our rhythm and just chip away at the health bar.

What dps class do you enjoy dpsing with most and why?
Feral druids, the buffs they bring (Leader of the Pack /drool) are a huge boost in our DPS. Paladins come in at a close second, for yummy Judgement of Wisdom on the target (less Viper equals more win!)

What tanking class do you enjoy dpsing with least and why?
This is a tough one, I get along with most tanks..except when I get a few too many crits all in a row, but I feel like although bear tanks have a ton of great benefits (huge health, great mitigations, etc) I feel like their burst threat can be a little behind at times so I need to be all over my Feign Death (or Deterrence tank if I feel lucky =P)

What is your worst habit as a dps?
Not watching my threat, or getting too cocky and thinking that I can DPS just a littleee bit more before I Feign Death, usually I’m wrong >_>

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while dpsing?
It pisses me off when I get relegated to doing other tasks (shooting down ice, killing snobolds, etc) and then get railed because my DPS dropped off and not getting any thanks for dropping 810412 patches of permafrost =/

Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other dps?
Definitely! Its a great feeling to see the “green wall” on Recount in a 25 man, but I do feel like when someone is a good Hunter player they really kick ass, but when they aren’t so great..its very obvious (not like some other classes where no-matter who the player is they can do decent DPS).

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a damage dealer?
I run Recount constantly, but after a raid I usually check out some WWS if available for a more in-depth look. In-game I definitely use the target dummies in Orgrimmar to work on my rotation and get nice and limber before a big progression raid (or to test out some new phat lewtz).

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your class?
I agree 100% with Jaedia over at the Lazy Sniper, a lot of people think that being a hunter is easy and were all just one-dimensional idiots who can only do one thing that barely requires an skill. I mean we have our fair share of douchensteins, but what class doesn’t! Its ironic because hunters have a huge amount of theorycrafters and very knowledgeable players, probably more than some other classes!

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new dpsers of your class to learn?
How to itemize, Hunters need to juggle a lot of stuff (hit, mana pool, etc) as well as stacking as much of our preferred stat as we can. Finding the preferred stat can be hard too with all the talk about Attack Power, Agility, and Armor Penetration. Apart from gear there’s a lot to worry about when playing a Hunter to be your best, pet management, cooldown usage, and having a flawless rotation all at the same time isn’t easy!

What dps class do you feel you understand least?
I don’t really know anything about how a Fire Mage works, except that they put living bomb on everything…maybe that’s all there is to it =P

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in dps?
I have a ton of macros, although a few are simple alt-cast macros the majority of them are invaluable (I’ll have a post up on them in a little bit), but as for add-ons I rely almost entirely on Power Auras (another post coming on that as well).

[Your class’s preferred basic stat] over other stats or balanced stat allocation, and why?
For hunters agility is king, but the king has to be supported by his kingdom. I feel that once you’ve reached your goals for other stats (hit capped, a decent mana pool, etc) agility should be your main focus. It scales too well and there’s no such thing as diminishing returns either! >:]

So that’s the end of that, hopefully that helped you guys learn a little more about me as a hunter, not just another pew-pew machine. Looking forward to any comments again as always!

Leave a Reply

Categories

